Blue Cares Scholarship

The San Antonio Police Officers’ Association Blue Cares Scholarship (formerly SAPOA Benefit Fund Scholarship) was created in memory of Officer Patricia Calderon who was killed in the line of duty on December 27, 1988. Officer Calderon served five years with the Department and was the first female San Antonio Police Officer killed in the line of duty.

The SAPOA Blue Cares Scholarship continues to honor all San Antonio Police Officers who have made the ultimate sacrifice in the line of duty. We keep their memories alive by awarding college scholarships to deserving applicants wishing to further their education.



Scholarship Criteria

Any graduating high school senior wishing to apply must meet the following criteria:
Each applicant must:

  • Provide a copy of your acceptance letter from an accredited college or university. (Just one please)
  • Have maintained a minimum GPA of 85/3.3 throughout their high school career.
  • Provide an original, sealed high school transcript.
    • Please send your official, stamped, and sealed transcript to:
      • Blue Cares, 1939 NE Loop 410, Ste 300, San Antonio, TX 78217
      • Copies Will NOT be accepted. Electronic transcripts are acceptable only if emailed directly from your school’s registrar. Please note, your scholarship application will not be complete until your transcript is received. To email transcripts, or for further questions please reach out to Sofia at
  • Provide an essay on why you feel you should be selected as a recipient, your future goals, and your life experiences that have influenced you to choose your career path.
  • Essay should be typed, no longer than two pages in length, Times New Roman font, size 12, double spaced with one inch margins.
  • All applications must be received on or before Friday, February 12, 2021

If selected as a finalist, you will be called for an interview with our Scholarship Committee. If awarded the S.A.P.O.A. Scholarship, you may be called upon for speaking engagements and/or be asked to volunteer at fundraising events on behalf of the S.A.P.O.A.

2020 Scholarship Winners

Alena Benko

Judson Early College Academy

Jason Dones

Reagan High School

Amy Fajardo

Cole High School

Tyler Fontenot

Brandeis High School

Alyia Hernandes

Jay High School

Joel Lozano

Memorial High School

Gabriela McNelly

Medina Valley High School

Emma Orosco

Brooks Academy of Science & Engineering

Desiree Peña

Brackenridge High School

Idalina Du

Reagan High School

Sierra Trapolsi

Judson Early College Academy

Ronaldo Resendiz

Memorial High School

Isabelle Warrington

Churchill High School

James Scharmann

Poteet High School

Project C J

Volunteers are the most important assets to any non-profit program. We appreciate any help that is offered.

The goal of Project CJ is to ensure children have enough healthy snacks and food options during their time away from school and on weekends.